Making charcoal on the Kadai

We have had a really lovely day relaxing in the garden. Everyone doing their own thing, but no jobs or work.

Mollie and I popped out briefly first thing this morning to pick up some jigsaw puzzles from a fellow blipper who lives in the next town, who had a pile ready for the charity shop. Mollie and I were super excited to collect them. I was a tad worried about the ‘non essential’ nature of the trip, but we didn’t see anyone, or stop anywhere else. So all good, and when we have finished our current one, will be spoilt for choice. Thank you Bom.

The sun shone in North Norfolk so all the garden chairs were out and umbrella too. I had already decided my chilling day would be attempting a painting. My friend Andy bought me a book a year or so back which takes you through stages to complete a watercolour, complete with a traced outline of the scene. We thought it similar to painting by numbers. I had a lovely day attempting to copy a scene of Cley windmill and surrounding buildings. It looks like a child has done it! (Jon would say a child did do it!!) I consider myself to be a creative individual, but painting is not my strength. A question for you - what am I supposed to do with the painting when it’s finished? I’d guess stick it on the fridge with fridge magnets - then bin it after about a week? Isn’t that what we did with our kids masterpieces, when sent home in the book bags?

Jon prepared his Kadai ( my Christmas present to him) for a barbecue which we enjoyed late afternoon, then once that was finished, he put his new charcoal maker on the coals, and built up the fire. It’s the first time he has used it. It takes a couple hours on the fire, and once it is taken off to cool you mustn’t open it until it is fully cool. So the big reveal, to see if it has worked, will be tomorrow.

Followed this with marshmallow roasting with the new multi fork - also a Christmas present!

No fights, no arguments, bad words or raised voices! So in all a pretty good lockdown Easter Saturday with my lovely family, enjoying each others company, and staying safe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.