Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

Deserted

Good Friday today and the strangest I have ever experienced. I don't think I'd have believed it if you had told me what was going to happen.... I don't think any of us would. A time of hurting for us all.

It's so sad that here we are in the middle of the Easter holidays and the playparks are deserted. I do miss the sound of children's laughter as they play.
Today we did lots of little jobs that needed doing. I finally got around to putting the new rope onto the garden clothes drier. The last one was ridiculously fine and some of my pegs just didn't grip, I was actually quite glad when it started to break. This one is much better.
Next up I decided to paint some of the garden fence before too many plants started to cover it. I think I did about a quarter which was all I could reach without bringing out a ladder or having to squeeze between tree branches, it does look better though. Don't know when I'll get around to the rest. My job tomorrow will be to hoe over all the places I tramped down while getting to the fence to paint it.
Kathryn popped in this afternoon to drop off the piece of lamb which she bought for us for our Easter dinner. We'll miss seeing the girls, we always have an Easter Egg hunt, one year we even had to have it indoors because it snowed!
I popped into the Good Friday service online this afternoon, it's not the same though.
Made another batch of mushroom soup this afternoon as we enjoyed the last one so much... , this one wasn't purple either.
Out for a walk after dinner as usual then watched last week's episode of Maggie Cole, they've talked about a second series, it'll be interesting to see how it develops.
My first sweet pea seedling has emerged today, just under a week since I sowed them
Thank you for the concern yesterday about my sleeping, I slept well last night. Fingers crossed for another good night.

Thank you too for dropping by my journal, I really enjoy dipping into yours' and to reading the comments here too. It always gives me a warm feeling. Thank you blip.
Keep well and keep safe everybody, we can do this!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.