Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

The strangeness of winter gardens

The fields were too soggy for walking this morning, so I thought I'd come here instead, where this avenue of pleached limes just blew me away. For those blippers who live locally, Mars Bar to the first who IDs the location. For those who don't - obviously you think it's my garden, but.. :))

The title is because I do think gardens in winter can have a touch of the otherworldly about them. I really love this. The emptiness, big skies, sculptural shapes and lots of quiet activity going on out of sight.

Today is Holocaust Memorial Day. Lots of inspirational memorial events going on around the country, none more so that Winchester Cathedral's 'Space for Peace', which I've sung in in the past, but not this year. Hope it goes well for all of you who are there..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.