Two steps forward...

By stevvi

Misumena vatia

Blimey! So... there was I photographing flying bees (I'm getting better at that) and this bee comes along, lands on a flower and starts doing it's thing. I get ready with my camera for the first sign of it flying off so I can photograph it when I notice this white spider approaching... and it doesn't stop. It looked like it was going for the bee, however the bee flew away just in time.

Back indoors looking at the internet it turns out this was a Misumena vatia, or Crab Spider, and it does indeed wait in ambush for bees and other unsuspecting beasties rather than spinning a web. I check my photos and have these three shots. I'm well pleased, and slightly amazed!

Flying things can wait until tomorrow!

Settings for those care: 1/2000, f/10, 100mm, 800 ISO

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.