Two steps forward...

By stevvi

Bee

My goal was to take a decent macro photo of a bee flying, and I think I've succeeded, although I would have preferred the wings in a different position for the main shot. I've learned quite a bit from doing this... 90% of the time it seems bees fly away from me, probably to spite me, as I really don't want a photograph of a bee's bottom. 90% of the time, no matter what way the bee is flying, I will focus on its backside meaning the all important head is out of focus and I'm left with yet another photo of a bees bottom. Due to using a flash I couldn't just spam the shutter button as the flash doesn't recycle that quickly, so the only way I found of getting a decent macro shot was to try to predict when the bee will move, take the photo and pray! It has been frustrating at times but it's also been great fun.

Oh yes... the spider from yesterday is still there waiting for something to fly along for lunch. As I put my lens in close to it for the photo, it opened its front legs expectantly... I don't like it.

Edit: Extras removed to make space!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.