Grubby's Blipfolio

By Grubby

Further remote control experiments

Well I went out to find a decent old log to create a decent perch to photograph the birds on rather than hanging on a feeder. Not as easy as one would think. I did a spot of birding as well and kicked myself for leaving the camera at home. I had the second best ever opportunity to photograph a Cettis Warbler. I will go back to same place tomorrow maybe. I also found a lovely Grass Snake swimming across a small pond.

Having chosen my log I headed home and tried so many different ways of hanging it on my feeder station. I ended up with two...one placed on the very top and another hanging half way down. It was strange watching the regular birds fly in and immediately become suspicious. I spent the best part of three hours messing about with different scenarios. I have placed seed on the log to hopefully entice them to feed there rather than the usual feeder. The Robin was the first to brave it...followed by the Great Tit. My best shot would have been 2 Long tailed Tits but the battery died in the camera. The photos taken are ok but not as pin sharp as I hoped for. I focused on the log and then sat back waiting. I think I need to focus just past the front of the log somehow. More to think on. I hope you like what I have done so far. You can see how the camera is set up in the entrance to our conservatory. I sit out of sight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.