If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Male Bullfinch. ( Pyrrhula pyrrhula )

A fairly tight crop of a not very clear shot.  The only reason I have used it is for my record purposes.  I was looking out of the window and spotted a pair of Bullfinches, as usual I had the wrong lens on the camera.  Later they appeared in the Amelanchier at the otherside of the house.  By the time I had got the camera they were gone.  However they had just flown over the house to where I had seen them earlier in the day.

Bullfinches only visit the garden ( well we only see them) 2 or 3 times a year.  Bullfinches are on the Amber concern list which is a slight improvement on the Red they have been in the early years of this century (81-07),  Strangely like many of our bird species it is of least concern on the continent.  What are we doing wrong?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.