Fritillary time

Today was a much more low-key celebration of Pete's birthday. In the morning I had a Zoom meeting with the eastern region of BSBI England, which worked really well - the discussion went on for over two hours! I think it was easier to be enthused, because many of the issues we discussed were quite fundamental and long-term. While I was in my meeting, Pete went to Thorpe Hall for his daily exercise.

After lunch I went for a long wander down to the river - it actually ended up being rather further than I'd planned, but it was hard to stop on such a perfect spring day.During my perambulation I found a pond full of amorous toads, heard a short burst of impossibly loud song from a Cetti's warbler and wandered in a flood meadow studded with the first flowers of Fritillary, Cuckoo-flower and Cowslip. It's so wonderful to have all these treasures within walking distance of the house.

When I finally arrived home I joined the rest of the family for a gin and tonic in the garden, and we then ordered a Caribbean takeaway from one of our local restaurants - it was delicious even though it arrived about an hour late. At eight o'clock we all went out into the street to clap for the NHS and other key workers. This was then followed by quite a few neighbours singing a rousing chorus of Happy Birthday to Pete - nice to hear it without the accompanying hand-washing! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.