Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Three

Happy Easter everyone!

A relatively lazy start to Easter Day was followed by listening to / watching our pre-recorded church service and then a series of emails, texts, WhatsApp messages, etc. with various friends.

By mid-afternoon I headed off on my walk, deciding to avoid the Canal as I reckoned it may have been busy with many people enjoying the sunshine. So, after crossing the bridge at Underwood Lock I walked along and up a series of farm roads, over one railway line and under another (see extra), before eventually joining the path that leads into Castlecary High Wood. Hardly saw a soul. (We have walked the path through the woods with the Ramblers several times, but I had never been along these farm roads before.)

Once into the woods, it was simply bliss just to amble along and listen to the birds giving it full voice.

Castlecary High Wood leads onto Castlecary Low Wood and the site of a former brickworks, which is where I took today's Blip. I thought the image of the three empty trees with signs of new life was a perfect image for Easter Day.

The path comes out at Allandale and from there it was about a thirty-minute walk via Haggs back home. My walking app said that I had walked 9.84km (about six miles)  I had been out of the house for a fraction under three hours, so probably used up my allowance for the entire holiday weekend.

Rump steak, onions, tomatoes and chips with a glass or two of red wine was the perfect culmination to a fine day out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.