Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Mono Monday: Window to the World

I hope my offering today fits in with the "negative space" theme. :) With thanks to Trisharooni.

The big thing today is Spring Harvest Home starting, so for the next few days, G & I are going to attend a few seminars, bible studies and "Big Top" worship all without a seven and a half hour flight, followed by a four-hour car journey to either Skegness or Minehead, then registering and getting the keys to your chalet, finding the chalet, getting your starter pack with programme etc. etc. etc. By the time you've done all that, usually on the first day the only session you attend is the Big Top meeting where you join with thousands of other equally enthusiastic and tired believers for a multimedia church service. It's fantastic. Tonight, I got dressed for the occasion albeit without needing a fleece and gloves. It's free too!

The last time I was there was in 2011. I woke up on Day 3 to the news that my father had been killed in a car accident. With the help of friends and colleagues, I got to Gatwick to fly home. Prior to that, I've managed to attend five times between 1990 and 2008. One of the best things is the quality of teaching and songs they've managed to maintain for forty years.

Loving all the tech at the moment that makes all this possible... the computer, screen, speakers, high-speed internet connection... YouTube might just have redeemed itself! ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.