Deeply Grooved

I began trying to capture the whole tree which presented an interesting shape against the stark grey canvas of an overcast sky. But then the trunk caught my eye because of the deep grooves in the bark that were quite distinct in the soft light and I decided it should be my focus.

The willows along the inlet have quite a different bark texture, more swirls, and twisted trunks. I don't know whether they are just older or that they are a different type - some research needed.

Not much editing required, mainly adjusting for exposure to balance the light across the image. However I did desaturate the grass along the shore to push attention towards the tree and in particular to the yellow dangly twigs. At f5 the background trees are nicely soft and separated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.