Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Lockdown Day 22 - Jay (Garrulus glandarius)

The RSPB provide the following information about Jays:

'Although they are the most colourful members of the crow family, jays are actually quite difficult to see. They are shy woodland birds, rarely moving far from cover."

I can agree with that and this is the best photograph I've ever managed to get of these shy creatures.  I'm sure, with better fieldcraft I might, but today was just a walk across heathland in the sun, while carrying the long lens.  It was a day for wildlife, though lugging the 200-500mm lens around on a walk is no idea of fun.  I saw a kestrel at distance but not close enough for a good photograph.  Deer were again visible and there were plenty of birds singing at me but precious few making a full appearance.  One thing of note was how quiet it was, only the natural noises of the countryside for most of the time.  A paraglider did come over at one moment; it seemed to be taking social distancing to the extreme!

And I saw the first swallow of the year! Yeh!

Day Miles: 7.6 miles     Total Miles: 484.3 mile

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.