madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Reflection

I seem to have it in for my right leg - first the fall, then I wore a pair of old shoes which somehow caused a blister, then in moving the bay tree I knocked my ankle against a storage heater brick I was going to use to make the tree level and stop it falling over! I seem to be getting more clumsy as I age! I was intending to get my eyes tested before the lockdown. When I had the detached retina the optician did say the vision in the eye had improved but would deteriorate - so maybe my glasses are playing with my perspective? I shall just have to go a bit slower and be more mindful of what I am doing!
Miranda1008 mentioned in a blip about feeling exhausted, and I've been seeing articles with headlines about feeling tired in the lockdown so decided to finally read one! Apparently stress and anxiety does cause tiredness, as does a lack of structure - so making a routine to your day is recommended. It made me realise that since I retired I've not really had a good routine, Friend, my health and now the lockdown have conspired to make this a hard thing to establish. I have found myself napping more, and going through periods of sleeping several hours during the day! More so in this hot weather which I find enervating!  I guess the only routine I have is walking Oscar and doing the hens! I think by nature I  dislike routine, particularly having spent a working life having to adhere to a timetable! I can remember on retiring I was interested in discovering what rhythm I would discover in my life, how my waking and sleeping habits would perhaps change. I guess I'm still in the process of trying to establish rhythm to my days, and I can't really blame the lockdown for my failure as my life is not too dissimilar now to what it was pre lockdown! I don't even eat at set times! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.