Social Distancing

Lockdown Day 23

It was back to work ‘from home’ today, and it’s been busy, which is what I expected after the clinic being closed for 4 days, but there was no major crisis which is good. My hours are being cut back to 2.5 days per week, which I’m happy about as that’s actually what I’ve been wanting to do. And it’s starting tomorrow, so it’s a very short week!

I had a chat with Bex, our office manager, this morning and she said they’re already working on a plan for Covid counselling and will have everything in place so they’re ready to go with the marketing at the appropriate time.

I also spoke to the child psychiatrist who rents room space from us, she’s recovering from Covid herself and said she’s been ill for about a month. All her family have had it and one of her son’s has been travelling with his band and all the band have it!

Not long after I’d finished work, Elif called me to say that she was going to hand deliver my earrings that I’d bought online from her boutique - she’s hand delivering anything local to save on postage, and also it gives her some exercise. So I said if she stayed at the end of the drive and left the packet there, I’d come out and say hello. It was really nice to see her and Luca even though it was only brief. She’s finding it hard with the boutique being closed and has reduced all her stock by 50%. But ever the business lady, she’s using this time to re-vamp her boutique and will re-open with a completely new look.

Alan and I then took the boys out for a walk and dinner was ready when we got back as I’d made Jamie Oliver’s beef tagine in the slow cooker - the smells have been making me hungry all day! And tonight I’ve had a group video chat with Alison, Barbs and Chrissy which was nice.

While I was sat working at the dining table this afternoon, I saw a guy in the field but he’d come through the bramble and was at the other side of our fence. He had a stick and appeared to be looking for something. I got Alan and we went outside and saw that he wasn’t alone, there was a group of about 4 teenage lads with him, all with sticks looking in the bramble. I asked one of the lads if they’d lost something, and he replied to say ‘someone’ - you may remember I mentioned about three weeks ago that a young lad from our village had gone missing after going to our beach to watch the sunset. Well there’s been no sign of him and they were searching for any evidence like his phone or wallet. It’s very strange, the coastguard were out searching for two days after he’d gone missing and they said his phone last had signal on top of the cliffs :-(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.