Salient points

During entertaining chats on Marco Polo with Hannah, Clare and now the wonderful Tim, I’ve been making lots of ‘salient points’. Hannah is rightly sick of my use of the word salient. Today in a work meeting on Zoom (what else), my friend and colleague leading the session referred to the final ‘salient point’ he wished to make. I didn’t think it was acceptable to use this word about yourself except in a tongue-in-cheek way, but if it’s legit in the workplace I’m going to use it daily there too.

As I was listening to the salient points on the above-mentioned call, Gugs was baking banana bread which wafted through the house in an intoxicating fashion. It was a pleasant but odd moment, smelling fresh baking, looking out over Cambridge gardens whilst discussing the interface between biodiversity and the fishing industry in Mozambique.

Later we gorged on the spoils and I went on my evening sanity walk. This is Peterhouse, a college of Cambridge, although apparently it is incorrect to say Peterhouse College. This is one of the more traditional colleges, so the town crier could hound you out of the city for such gross impertinence.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.