A New Beginning and an Old Beginning

Dear Diary,

Today I begin my 7th year of this photo journal.  I usually do a selfie but since I did my masked selfie a few weeks ago I thought I'd skip that today.  Instead, for my new beginning, I offer a photo of an old beginning, the winter of 1974/75, when I began my study of photography at college.  It was my major along with filmmaking.  Here I am with my father's camera lining up a shot.  This 45 year old photograph isn't great but the memory is still strong and clear.  Although there were many years that I didn't  do much photography, it was always important to me and it was one thing I shared with my Dad who passionately recorded our lives.  Now, for the last six years, I do the same.

DAY FIFTEEN:  
“Subtle is significant. We are often affected in ways we don’t even know by subtle phenomena.” ~ Shinzen Young  What is subtle?  The dictionary defines it as:  delicate, elusive, difficult to understand or perceive, artful, crafty, operating insidiously. It needs finely tuned attention to see. Makes it seem kind of mysterious.  Subtle phenomena are always there, hidden in plain sight.

As you move throughout the day, pause occasionally to check your peripheral vision. Look off to the side, to the edge, up or down, and notice how your view changes. What do you see out of the corner of your eye? How does your peripheral vision affect what you see?  

Here is what I didn't overlook yesterday...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.