Supporting Small Businesses

Dear Diary,

I can buy eggs at my local market but I chose to drive 40 minutes to the Remick Farm to buy their farm fresh eggs not only because they are better but because my purchases support this wonderful place.  Across the road is the Tamworth Distillery which normally makes spirits from locally sourced ingredients.  They suspended their normal work to make hand sanitizer for the New Hampshire Visiting Nurse Association.  You can buy some too and the proceeds from the sales helps keep the employees working.  I make my own hand sanitizer but I ordered two bottles of theirs to help.  New Hampshire's motto is, "Live Free or Die", from the revolution.  The motto on these bottles is, "Live Clean or Die".  Many small businesses will likely not survive this time but I do hope with all my heart that these two do.  My beloved Barnstormer's Theater is in this town as well.  The are scheduled to open at the end of June.  I hope they can.  They've been a fixture in town for over 80 years and I have been attending performances for over 30 years.

DAY FOURTEEN: ”Our perceptual habits, conscious or unconscious, become our reality. Another way to say this is that we tend to see the world as we believe it to be, unless we consciously choose to attend to what we haven’t yet seen, to notice the unexpected elements of the world. Ultimately, attention is the true power of vision.” - Laura Sewall  

Take several moments today to pause and notice what you normally overlook, whether an object or the effects of sunlight or a familiar person or just the overall scene. Photograph what the eye sees but the mind normally doesn’t. Just see it for what it is. Seeing what you overlook can bring a breath of fresh air into your daily life.

Yesterday's perception taken without judgement is here...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.