sleepyduck

By sleepyduck

Cigarette Guy

This is the first shot of what I hope and intend to be an occasional and irregular series entitled The Regulars.

I have been pondering this series for a long time. It was brought to the front of my mind by Emily's blip earlier this week. These are the people we pass every day. We don't know them, but we have names for them and we imagine their lifestyles... where they have come from... where they are going... Emily referred to them as "the regulars" and that seems as good a term as any.

Cigarette Guy always has a cigarette in his hand. He wears a suit, usually with a dark shirt and tie - exactly as you see him above. He walks thisaway as I'm walking thataway. He turns off at Randolph Crescent, so I surmise that he works in Ainslie Place or Moray Place. I imagine that he lives in Bruntsfield, maybe Morningside, gets the bus down to Lothian Road and walks the rest of the way. This gives him time to have a cigarette before he reaches the office. He seems less stressed than a lot of the regulars... maybe he enjoys his job, or maybe he just manages to go through life without getting stressed out. He looks like he has a sense of humour. I think he and I would get on quite well...

Enough about Cigarette Guy... It's Friday! Here's to a great weekend for us all :-)


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.