The Wofflings Of A Doris

By DorisOrDwagon

Of Mice... and Moss

After finishing my Blip session yesterday evening, there was a short thunderstorm and lightning to liven up the evening.

Was just thinking about heading to bed about 11.45pm when, out of the corner of my eye, I saw something run across the carpet from the end of the settee where I was sat. I admit, it did make me shriek - thought it was a huge spider - but as it disappeared under the chair, I saw it was actually a little field mouse!

So, instead of winding down ready for bed, we started moving furniture into the middle of the room and opened the side door for it to make its escape (hopefully). It did a couple of laps of the front room and just when we thought we'd lost it, with the aid of my trusty flappy tea towel, I located it behind the aquarium unit.

Al set up a poorly constructed barricade of a chair, a table and a newspaper rack, while I waggled the tea towel behind the aquarium to flush it out... so after 20 minutes and another lap of the front room, it found the threshold of the doorway, it hesitated a moment because it was blowing a hooley, Al gave it a quick tickle with the tea towel and away it went. Phew!

We did wonder how long it had been in the room and whether it may have enjoyed the delights of the uncovered bowl of dry roasted peanuts and cashews while we weren't about! Too late to worry about that, we'd eaten them with our glass of wine.

Woke up to a completely different scene to snowy Saturday, everywhere was green again and the sun was was really strong, shining down the hill from the Chapel. It was highlighting the raindrop covered lines of moss growing along the cracks in our wall, just like the car headlights do in the early morning mentioned here, so dashed out before I lost the direction of light to see if I could capture the scene vaguely as I saw it.

Although I have more close-up ones with the droplets which are pretty, I liked this one best as it sums up most what I was most attracted to. The bokeh background is the other rows of wet moss glinting in the sunlight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.