The Wofflings Of A Doris

By DorisOrDwagon

I'll have a P please

Started work at 6.30am in the hope of finishing my statistical page on eating disorders by lunchtime... hmm, does that sound a bit wrong?! By the time I finished working, the wind was howling and it was rainy, didn't fancy going out, but what to blip? Wasn't feeling very inspired today.

I was only planning to go to the local Co-op, so not much to capture the imagination on that trip except, as I drove, I was having a think about how to do a creative 'fruit and/or veg' based image for the camera club current theme. Mushy peas crossed my mind (as they do), which then escalated into garden peas, falling peas, peas falling from my trusty pea strainer into a bowl idea.

So I bought a bag of frozen peas and when I got home I did another of my half-hearted set-ups but practised with some Frosted Shreddies here (and here), tipping them from the pea strainer into a bowl... and missing.

Could see it would work if I put my mind to it, so set up the off camera flash, frozen peas in the strainer and fired away with one hand (why don't I just get my tripod out?) while holding the strainer at arms length trying to compose and tip them into the bowl at the same time. Quite a lot ended up on the floor with the Shreddies, the rest which had gone a bit soggy by the time I'd finished with them were bunged in with the mushy peas for tea.

Reviewing the images I could see potential but I really need to do it properly, so that's on hold until tomorrow if I don't get a heron, kingfisher or pair of dippers on my early morning riverside jaunt with my camera club mate dustrystreets1

So with an emergency pea image in the pipeline, if all else failed, I tried out my home-made lightbox again. Not done much still-life but would like to keep practising, especially in bad weather it's a good fallback. Thought I'd try this lovely charm-like necklace that a friend bought me, put it in my lightbox, off camera flash to the front right with the head pointed upwards to bounce it inside top and an led light shining though from the left, trying to minimise the shadows.

Sleepy now... all I can see is peas when I close my eyes - will catch up with everyone's Monday blips tomorrow

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.