Comfort for a cold day

A fasting day again. The time seemed to pass with several unexpected WhatsApps. In fact one friend called while I was talking to Jan in Cornwall.

As #3 daughter was going to do a shop for us I used most of the flour I had to make a gingerbread, an apple cake and this chocolate one. I left half of each for daughter, and apart from a slice of each for us, the rest for friend Carol who brings us our Saturday Guardian. it was fun to bake but I shouldn’t have mad3 such a binge as Daughter couldn’t get the flour I asked for. She did however bring 2lb Plain flour from Arlo the cafe, as the owner lives on her street and, the cafe being closed, gave it to people in the street.

Daughter can deliver to us as we can’t shop ourselves. The volunteer system is very worthy but because over 100 households are being shopped for on the same morning from our very small village Co-op I have not been very lucky in getting what’s on the list. She arrived after having queued outside the supermarket in town. She thought they let too many into the shop at once and even a family of 4 went in.

The temperature outside by the time she arrived here was 5c with windchill. She brought a blanket with her and we huddled under ours with coats on, chatting several metres apart. We have been told this lockdown will continue for at least 3 weeks. A scientist said on BBC news in his opinion social distancing should to upheld till everyone has had a vaccine. I can’t imagine most people will adhere to that, but I agree with him.

We have left the shopping in the shed for the required days. Looking forward to the posh crisps and G& T on Sunday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.