Lockdown Day 24 - A Cheerful Spot

Well, it’s another flower blip from me today! This spot in my kitchen used to be a window before the house was extended - long before I lived in this house. I like it because I can see the dining room from the kitchen (not that people are sitting at the table very often!). It’s also a favourite spot for flowers. I thought the daffodils were over, but they’re still selling the £1 bunches at Waitrose. I always buy two and they cheer up my kitchen during the early months of the year. The types of daffodils have changed and I’ve enjoyed the variety.

I’m not sure if I’ve blipped this plaque and picture of Dolly before. It’s one of my favourite pictures of her, taken in July, (blip here) before she died in August, three years ago. She was almost 18 in this picture! Always alert and interested, especially when there was sausage on my plate, which is what I believe I was eating as she sat beside me, as she always did when I ate outside. Miss her!

So we found out today that we have at least another 3 weeks of the lockdown. No surprises there. There’s lots of useful debate around what an exit strategy will look like and what has to happen before we can ease restrictions, but I think it’s a good thing. I’m motivated to pray for, more than to criticise our leaders. These are difficult decisions amongst a variety of opinions and theories.

A very good friend is now in the hospital with Covid-19, although not in ICU. I went to the hospital to drop off a charger for his phone early this morning. Some may think this is extreme, but I’ve had a ‘go bag’ packed for awhile, with a few necessary things in it, just in case I end up in the hospital. A change of clothes, PJs, toiletries, chargers etc. And a list of emergency contacts. For those who live alone, it’s also really important to make sure a neighbour has a key - you may be too weak to get to the door! If you’re looking out for your single neighbours, please do make sure they have left a key with someone.

Stay safe everyone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.