Farewell To My Dearest Companion

Yesterday was such a happy day and a happy blip from the first day back with our dear friends in Sweden.

Today's blip couldn't be more of a contrast - the hardest blip I've ever written.

We had a slow and pleasant morning and this picture was taken of Dolly chillaxing with her favourite bear Lewis, while we had breakfast. A little later we all 4 went walkies in the nearby oak meadows where we had enjoyed many walkies last year. We took several pictures of Dolly and Alice posing together. Then a few minutes later Dolly suddenly started having a seizure, something she'd never had before. We soon realised she was really in trouble and quickly got her home. She then had a couple more seizures. We couldn't get in to either of the two nearby vets so we had to drive to a vet 30 minutes away.

I wasn't surprised when the very kind vet said there was nothing he could do. I was faced with that very difficult decision that was best for Dolly, and painfully said goodbye. I am blessed to be here with our dear dear friends who are so supportive and are grieving with me as I am totally heartbroken.

Dolly was my mother's dog and I took her on after we lost my mum 13 years ago. She and I developed a close bond that became only more wonderful as the years went on. She was a brave and resilient girl through many of her own health issues - but she never gave up and lived a happy and full life right up to the very end. She was so easy to travel with and every day felt like an adventure. With my job I couldn't have kept Dolly without the wonderful shared care from Orla and Rachel in the early years, and then in the last 10 years, after I moved, the committed and loving dog-sitting/caring from Dorothea and her family. We have both been blessed to have all these friends who have helped us. There have been others too who have occasionally filled the gap.

My dear Dolly: I will miss you SO much!! Thank you for being the best companion I could ever wish for and for bringing joy to so many people. Run free little girl!

Dolly - 17 years, 10 months and 20 days
Sep 13 1999 - Aug 2 2017

(A dear friend sent me the Rainbow Bridge poem today. And then this evening there was a beautiful double rainbow outside. It was a wonderful comfort. See the extra photo)

Please read Alice's blip for today here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.