Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Busy, busy ...

This turned out to be our busiest day of the week, though actually that's not saying much ... It began with the weekly (but moved to Friday this time) discussing the shopping list, by text, with the angel who shops for us in the supermarket. Several shelves were virtually bare again after two weeks of plenty; we wondered if the prospect of another 3 weeks in lockdown had inspired another outbreak of panic buying. She also had tales to tell of people (specifically old people!) pushing in front of her to get at the happy chicken (as opposed to the wretched battery hen stuff) with no regard for either queuing or distance. The business of emptying the bags and wiping or washing the contents took us all the way to coffee-time.

Shortly after that we had a delivery of frozen meat from our regular supplier, and had to find room in the freezer, but just before lunch the window occurred to take the plunge and cut my hair. I have to say that in the past I often took scissors to random bits of hair left by less competent hairdressers, but today I was faced by perfectly-matched ends that had, alas, merely grown too far from my head. I set myself up in the bathroom, got Mr PB to give me a last coaching on the use of clippers, took a deep breath, and started. At the back. Straight up, and out at the top... A large chunk of hair appeared on the floor. The rear view mirror did not, however, show a bare furrow up my head, so I did it again....and again ...

The hardest bit was the top. I don't think the hairdressing scissors from the hair clipper set were quite up to the job. I've sent for some thinning shears, but in the meantime I did my best. The extra photo shows the bathroom when I'd almost finished. I'll spare you the mug shot ...

Later we walked down the coast. The gorse was fantastic, and the sky brightened as we moved southwards. My head felt light and airy and there was no-one to see. And there was curry to look forward to, curry that I hadn't cooked. The telly's pretty rubbish when I don't feel up to following Babylon Berlin (all recorded, hours of it) - those rapid subtitles and my lack of German mean I can't look away for a second. But it's been quite a stimulating day ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.