Still beautiful

Before I consign my wonderful tulips to the compost heap, I thought I would try to take a shot that would show how beautiful they are even now.  I think the image has a classic, painterly appearance.

We have had troubling news here today.  My pregnant niece, Manda, is in the hospital and will remain there until the twins are born.  Her water broke last night, at 33 weeks, and she is now on the antenatal ward at Swedish Hospital. They are giving her steroids to support the boys' lung development and antibiotics to prevent infection, now that at least one of them is unprotected.  We are all hoping that she can hold onto the pregnancy for a few more weeks to give them the best chance of a healthy start.  Of course poor Manda is stuck in her room because of Covid19 precautions, can't have visitors except Andrew, twice a week, for an hour at a time.  She's got an uncomfortable bed and nurses who keep waking her up, so she's not gotten much sleep.  We spoke on the phone this afternoon and she seems to be adjusting to her situation.  Fortunately everyone is calling and she will be able to have video calls with friends.  I sent her a little Ecard this morning and will make and send a new one every day that she's in the hospital.

My sister Lex, Manda's mom, who blips as Endless Weekend, has posted a painting she made, inspired by a photo by Hettycat.  I think it's wonderful - you might want to have a look.

I hope all of you have had untroubled days full of sweet air and sunshine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.