a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Camouflage

Can you see the yellow and black bee against the yellow flowers and dark background? Well yes, of course you can, it's not that difficult.  The bees seem to love these tiny berberis flowers. As I stood there in the damp this afternoon, they were practically queuing up to have their portraits taken, the vain little things  :-)

We only have a couple of small berberis bushes that largely look after themselves.  Dad's house has berberis hedges and they need a regular annual trim.  They might look nice and innocent at this time of year, but the thorny leaves make them a swine to cut, when hedge trimming time arrives.  I remember when I was growing up as a teenager living at home I was required to help cut the hedges during school holidays.  Later on when I was old enough to have a paid holiday job I could get out of having to take part.  Yet I always felt slightly guilty about not helping, as it really was quite a chore.

Classic Album of the day: John Mayall's Bluesbreakers ~ the "beano" album

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.