a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Reputational Damage

Derelict Sunday:  Reputational Damage

I'm still busy going through Dad's papers with a view to shredding the confidential stuff that no longer matters.  I spent this morning shredding his old tax papers from the 1960s and 1970s.  I kid you not.  My Dad has kept full tax records since the start of the 1960s - every PAYE coding notice or piece of correspondence, plus the government guidance and forms including the budget advisories issued to tax payers.  

Amongst it all I finally came across some unused stamps of, yes the royal wedding in 1986.  (Before you ask, I have no idea how they ended up with the 1960s tax stuff either).  This wasn't Charles and Diana's wedding, but it was another wedding doomed to failure.  In this case it was Prince Andrew and Sarah Ferguson.  He was, even back then, known as "Randy Andy" and she was "Fergie".  

She was of course the famous "Fergie" back then as the other Fergie - Sir Alex Ferguson was only starting in his role as manager of Manchester United that year.

We don't see much of Prince Andrew for some reason nowadays.  I don't imagine that he will be visiting the USA any time soon, assuming that the Coronavirus lockdown permitted.  Perhaps it is a bit harsh to describe his reputation as derelict?  I don't think so myself.

Needless to say the stamps are a collector's item ;-)

Classic Album of the Day:  Steely Dan ~ Can't buy a thrill

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.