Garden Fun

I'm impatiently waiting for nature to rot
leaves and dead flower-heads now that I've got
a sturdy container that came as flat-pack:
a fine compost-maker to help me give back
to the earth in my garden, the beds round the edge,
the dead stuff I gather from peelings of veg
and leaves and dead flower-heads waiting to rot
and turn into compost right here on the spot.


The timing of the rain yesterday couldn't have been better for rendering the soil easy to dig. I cleared (mainly wild garlic and decorative over-spread grasses) from a patch at the side of our back garden to accommodate the Compost Maker that I bought (flat-pack) from Lidl.

It was so easy to click together, It has an opening lid for adding compost and a sliding hatch at the bottom for spading out compost in due course. I'm so pleased with it. Should mean I only have to put thick, woody stuff in the council brown bin.

It's not rained today. It's been mild and still, but we've been and still are inside a cloud, so damp. Didn't stop me gardening so used my energies there rather than going for a walk today. Not a lot to see when the fog is this thick.

Now it's evening and soon it'll be going dark, so time to select something from our archives of recorded programmes to watch on TV.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.