Emerging Fern

A cloudy dull day but I didn't mind as the gardens really needed all the rain we have just had.  I had a relaxing morning and even managed a few minutes Pilates I'm just not good at doing much by myself.  After lunch I went for a walk into town and decided to walk along the coastal footpath towards the west.  Although it has several narrow stretches I had been told that not that many people tend to go out and everyone is fairly careful at keeping their distances and waiting for each other to pass by.  I was following behind a couple which suited me.  Good to have a different route and I enjoyed the wet earthy smell as I slowly climbed uphill through small areas of woodland with young ferns unfolding and bluebells.  The extra shows a view looking back to Budleigh and some bluebells.  An enjoyable walk.  I passed through the allotment on the way back and took up the offer of some more garlic from a neighbouring plot holder.

This evening I am in the middle of making a Millionnaires Shortcake which my son had requested.  I didn't realise it involved so many cooling stages not sure if he will be able to have some tonight.  Yesterday I baked a sourdough loaf and was very pleased with its rise even before cooking discussing this with my sister she thinks it may be the flour I used which could have a higher protein content.  I bought the flour from the mill and it is in a brown bag without any details.  I will have to try again and see.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.