Staring into the Abyss

It's been a busy day by quarantine standards. 
I vacuumed and mopped the floors
I made face masks
I went for a walk
I thought (a lot) about how much I dislike our supposed 'leader'. 
And about how now, people are dying because of his lack of leadership and divisive style, even in a pandemic. 
And about how angry he makes me...

With that in mind, I offer the following from a British journalist, Michael Stevenson. It was sent to me by an English friend who has lived in this country for many years. I offer it as a way of saying that I am as mystified as the British people about how this man has gotten such a stranglehold on our country:
Here it is, in part:

"Someone on Quora asked 'Why do some British people not like Donald Trump?' Nate White, an articulate and witty writer from England wrote the following response":

A few things spring to mind.


Trump lacks certain qualities which the British traditionally esteem. For instance, he has no class, no charm, no coolness, no credibility, no compassion, no wit, no warmth no wisdom, no subtlety, no sensitivity, no self awareness, no humility, no honor and no grace--all qualities with which his predecessor Mr. Obama was generously blessed. So for us, the stark contrast does rather throw Trump's limitations into embarrassingly sharp relief....


...what especially confuses and dismays British people, and many other people too, his faults seem pretty bloody hard to miss.
After all, it's impossible to read a single tweet, or hear him speak a sentence or two without staring deep into the abyss. He turns being artless into an art form, he is a Picasso of pettiness, a Shakespeare of shit. His faults are fractal: even his flaws have flaws and so on ad infinitum.
God knows there have always been stupid people in the world, and plenty of nasty people too. But rarely has stupidity been so nasty, or nastiness so stupid...
 
Perhaps many of you have already seen this...Here is the full textI'm hoping it has gone viral, but in any case just writing it down has made me feel better...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.