An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Moonlit Flooded Footpath

Before the cloud came earlier this morning and rain apparently sweeping in, here was a scene that I snapped, a few hours ago...

I've never known this major, gravelled footpath to be flooded like this - I got a damp foot, despite Brasher hiking boots, as I hauled tripod, full-frame D700 and a rucksack through the undergrowth on the extreme left.

I'm glad I did though I had to find an alternative route home, via a road some distance up on the hill.

I used the 'B' (bulb) setting for a one minute exposure and the Nikkor 16mm full-frame fisheye lens. I lessened some of its inherent major distortion to the right hand side, after plus the usual selective shadow extraction. The colour has not been increased, the long exposure has built up the colours from Salisbury's street lamps and you can just see the cathedral spire with its red light atop in the far distance.

So, quite an uncomfortable few hours photographing - it was cold rather than freezing, though a mild frost was forming later. I am glad to have got the full moon in this shot, as well as the landscape it sat over. I'm pleased also that my recent attempts at night-time long exposures have given me a bit more experience so that my results are less hit and miss, making such missions both more fruitful and satisfying.

Got through the entire concertos for piano by old 'van, the deaf man', Beethoven on the ipod whilst out in the cold- seemed quite a symphonic and fitting accompaniment to the shadowy dynanism of such a night.

Try it on 'large'!

It seems that this isn't the first time that certain EXIF data gets lost when you replace a pic with a re-edited one, after, of the same file. The lens you know about but the iso is now missing - its iso 200, the D700's lowest setting.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.