Blue Hamish

By BlueHamish

How did we manage before IKEA?

Trip to Ikea to buy a couple of chests of draws for my daughters bedroom. She assures me that this is the key to her room being tidy in future. I did point out that she already had a chest of draws and just because she didn't like them, it was unlikely that this was why her clothes never found their way into them!

Anyway, as I walked around the store, it occured to me that this seems to be the way we buy furniture now. In days gone by, I suppose the approach was very similar, but we had the choice of MFI and Habitat as well. Now it seems to be Ikea or what?

As I walked through the store, I snapped away at all sorts of things. It's a gold mine for anyone who likes to take pictures of random objects like I do. Settled on this picture of a lamp set against what I think was a rug. I just love the way the rug looks organic. It reminded me of some form of sea life swaying in the currents or in this case, reaching out to the light source.

Anyway, back to Ikea, I will take a picture of what I know will be a tidy bedroom once the draws have been built. I will then take the same picture 2 weeks later. If I am wrong and it is still tidy, I will make a public apology to my daughter, but right now, I'm pretty confident that isn't going to be necessary :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.