THE SMILING FACE OF WAITROSE

We used to enjoy going to Waitrose to do our shopping - and probably went about once every ten days - it was quite a social thing - often we would stop for a coffee and meet friends in the coffee shop or even go over to the pub across the bridge for lunch.  We would often see the same people and staff, and of course, when you have seen someone three times or more, you feel you have made a new friend.  The staff at our local Waitrose are always very friendly and those now delivering our groceries are no exception.

Today we had another delivery with most of the things we had ordered, with just a couple of substitutions - sadly still no flour, but we can live without that.  However, who could feel unhappy when a person with a lovely smiley face like this delivers your shopping.

About 15 minutes before the delivery was due, I received a text telling me the ETA and also the name of the delivery person.  Today it was Dawn and what a pleasure it was to see her smiling face.

Whilst she was unloading the various bags, we chatted and I asked her if this was a new job for her - delivering groceries.  She said she normally worked in the store, but was now doing deliveries, so I asked if I could take a photograph of her and explained about Blip - she said she remembered me from chatting with her before in the store, so she was quite happy for me to take a photograph.  I also gave her one of my cards so that she can look at my Blip for today.  I think I may also send a copy to Waitrose - because people like Dawn, who are the “Smiling Face of Waitrose”, are a real credit to their company, are helping to keep the country going and bringing cheer to us oldies more mature folk.

We told Dawn we hadn’t been out to a supermarket or indeed to do anything other than exercise for about six weeks, but that we were trying to be sensible and do as we had been instructed.  We said we weren’t unhappy or stressed and were well looked after by various family, friends and neighbours and were just “getting on with it”.  She retorted, “Well done - that’s how I feel - it’s happening, so deal with it!”  I can honestly say that Dawn was a real "tonic" to us today - all we need now is the gin or vodka! 

It’s another lovely sunny day and Mr. HCB is out pottering in the garden and greenhouse - so he’s happy and I am about to go and do battle again with my new sewing machine.  Yesterday I did really well until the thread started puckering up underneath - when I spoke to fellow Blipper, Veronica, she thinks it may be the bobbin, so I have been watching tutorials to make sure it is inserted properly.  If only I could sew as fast as I can still type!  If anyone has any sewing tips, they would be gratefully received!

“SMILE - :-)
     it’s the key that fits the lock
          of everybody’s heart.”
Anthony J.  D’Angelo

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.