I'M ON A ROLL - 100 ABSTRACTS - NUMBER 11

Last night, I was doing some experimentation for today’s blip, which I decided would be another one of my 100 Abstracts, a challenge I am doing on behalf of the Mamie Martin Fund, which provides secondary education for young women and girls in Malawi.

I then had to make up my mind whether I would stay up until after midnight to take my shot, bearing in mind that technically, any shot on Blipfoto has to be taken ON the day, or whether I would get up early.  I decided to go to bed and see what time I woke up.

At 4:56 a.m. I was wide-awake, So I tiptoed downstairs, not even bothering to put on a pair of slippers or my pink robe, which was a big mistake!

I spent some time in the hall taking shots through the porch window, which happens to be frosted glass so the image distorted well. I then went into the kitchen and took some more shots through our kitchen door which is also frosted glass and then decided at 5:40 that I needed to get back to bed or just stay up for the rest of the day. 

I was just about to walk into our bedroom when I saw something else that might be good for an abstract, so spent another 10 minutes taking shots of that. By this time my feet were like blocks of ice and I was really cold so I decided to get back into bed to see if I could get warm. I didn’t dare put my cold feet anywhere near Mr. HCB because it would have woken him instantly. 

When Mr HCB brought me my early morning cup of coffee just after 8 o’clock my feet were still cold, but we then had a little chat about the various photographs I had taken and the fact that he realised I had gone but couldn’t rouse himself enough to do anything about it! 

This is my abstract for today, taken from the porch, with the light from the street lamp shining through, and also the lights along our neighbours’ driveway, and I think it makes quite a good abstract - I’m happy with it anyway.  According to the photo information, this particular shot was taken at 5.20 a.m.

In other news, you may remember last week that I mentioned that a friend wanted to buy some of my cards, I duly posted them last Thursday and she has now made a most generous donation which will go towards the Mamie Martin Fund. If anyone else would like some cards, which are all blank inside so you can write your own greeting, please email me and I can arrange to send you some, for a small donation towards the Fund. 

“To me, photography is an art of observation. 
     It’s about finding something interesting 
          in an ordinary place… 
I’ve found it has little to do 
     with the things you see and 
          everything to do 
               with the way you see them.”
Elliott Erwitt

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.