Someone's Been Busy

Dear Diary,

There are a couple of beaver ponds close to me but you rarely see them or their handiwork.  This stump showed evidence of recent work with fresh chips strewn around.  The funny thing is, there is no beaver lodge on this pond.  Beavers transport their logs by water so there may be a lodge tucked away that I haven't seen.  I will need to check it out.  Now that the weather is getting warmer, visits to the pond will become more frequent for me and I'm looking forward to it.

DAY TWENTY:  "One's destination is never a place, but rather a new way of looking at things." ~Henry Miller  “There are degrees of attention: the glance, the cursory look, the look, the long look  (self-forgetting, therefore contemplative)” - Thomas Merton   For the next ten days, we’ll turn to the encounter, the relationships, which are at the heart of perception. But for today, take that long look and notice when you are completely present with no ideas, judgments, likes or dislikes, no thoughts of self. How does it feel? Freeing, I hope. 

I've added three series from yesterday's practice as extras today.  I visited the pond at 9am, 1pm and 5pm and photographed the same spot in three different locations.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.