monochrome

By monochrome

Middle Meadow Walk

The missus was taking the car to work again today, so I tagged along and got a lift in. I asked her to drop me off at the Meadows, and had a rather pleasant blander down a rather misty Middle Meadow Walk (try saying that three times fast!). It's strange - I've never been a big fan of walking for the sake of walking, however since getting back into blipping, and actively going out at lunch time for a decent walk and a blip, I actually look forward to a wee wander around the city. Even though I've lived in Edinburgh all my life, it also feels like I'm getting to know the place more, as the slower pace of walking allows far more observation than driving through the streets does.
Boab was off today (evidently accompanying his missus to their 12 week scan - congrats again mate!), and StevieFish was out getting his eyes tested, so I was off for another solo wander at lunch time.
So, the day was going pretty well all-in-all, until I went to make myself a wee cup of tea at around 8pm. The leccy has been playing up a bit recently with certain appliances tripping the power, requiring a bit of fiddling with the circuit breakers and RCDs to get the juice flowing again. This time (however), the power wasn't coming back on irrespective of what I tried. A quick call to the brother-in-law (an electrician) resulted in a late night call out for him, and he eventually diagnosed the problem as a dodgy RCD. Of course, that was the only thing he didn't have on him (well, that and some proper testing equipment - it was fun watching him test the circuits using an old multimeter [like the kind they had at school], and some improvised test leads made out of some old power cable that was lying around), so he had to go all the way back to East Calder to get the replacement RCD, then back to us to fit it. Power was finally restored at 12.30am, ensuring that the food in the freezer stayed properly frozen and that the water was hot for showers in the morning. It was, however, far too late for photo editing! :)

Rejected Blips:
* Granny in the Mist
* Misty Morning Walk
* Faithfull

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.