Garden Magpie

Magpie, magpie, what do you see,
Watching from your favourite tree?

Small birds feeding on the ground,
And food enough for all around.


Magpie, magpie, why do you wait,
In the treetops with your mate?

My sharp eyes can see you, too;
Though you're indoors, I'm watching you.


Magpie, magpie, what do you see,
Peering from your safe high tree?

A chance to dive and grab a bite,
Before I'm off again in flight.


Magpie, magpie, you'll soon learn
I don't hurt birds, so do return.

You may not be as small and sweet
As some birds but you, too, must eat.

© Celia Warren 2020


There were two magpies, a pair that visit most days, but I didn't manage to get them both in the picture. Another lovely, sunny day, but there's a strong cool wind with today's sunshine.

Thanks to poetry- and mono-Monday-challenge hosts, Hildasrose and trisharooni, respectively.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.