Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Ah - people

Today I finished painting up some N scale people to be waiting for the local train to arrive at the new Craig CO station .  Probably too many people but they will find a home somewhere.  And they were all on the same sprue so might as well paint them all.  Sometime ago I bought a couple of packages (several hundred in all) of unpainted figures in N scale.  Like 15 years ago.  Anyway I enjoy painting them - not when tired or my eyes act up.  Good that I quit drinking years ago.  But with 10/0 and 5/0 brushes it is relatively easy.  I like the Vallejo paints.  The pigment is super fine and it stays where you put it.  Crucial with figures.  And it drys fast. The paints are in the white plastic holder.  Easy to get at and use.  

I learned some tricks at a train convention long ago. You paint figures the same way they would dress - first the skin, then the shirt, then the skirt and/or coat and then whatever they are holding.  Hair, hats, and shoes are at the end.  Let it dry and then you can see all the spots you missed.  I keep a log of what color I used on which person to make matching easier. Always a ton of mistakes and repainting.

So tomorrow I will finish the landscaping around the new station, get it planted, and populated.  I will blip the finished product when it is dry.

I will try and maintain social distancing on the platform.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.