A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Double surprise!

A shorter walk today as Chris wanted to be back to make some more beer bread to go with his home made carrot and coriander soup for lunch. (Delicious it was too!)
We headed to take another look for the Sparrow Hawks nest. We could see nests but nothing else and it was looking straight into the sun so was difficult.  
We enjoyed just meandering up the Beck enjoying the bird song and bubbling water (saw two Jays) and then bumped into a friend walking his dog. He said he knew where the nest was but not where we were looking. As we didn’t want to back track we left it for another day. Strangely it was the same person that had told him but not quite the same spot!
Continued up the Beck a little but not as far as the waterfall, hoping to see a heron or dipper but no. Then Chris spotted this blue tit. I’d seen them hopping about the branches overhead but he saw this one disappearing into holes in the tree. Looks like a double decker des res that is being lined with moss, I had to wait an age for it to reappear though it didn’t come out again whilst we were watching.  So cute to see, I couldn’t choose one shot above the other so here’s  a compilation.

Back up the hill towards home I thought I spotted a lamb, having looked for weeks in these fields and gone further yesterday to see a lamb I was surprised, not only that, when we got closer, the ewe was just giving birth to a second one! What timing. Extra

A great little walk, just shows you don’t have to go far for such joys.

Yesterday Eda received her last lot of dolls clothes from me. She took them straight to show daddy, who is working in the bedroom during the day at the moment, she really liked them. Grace sent me a picture and video and I got quite tearful watching it.
Later, when we face timed she had the doll and teddies lined up for a story before she had her bath. (The book was one I sent too) I’d sent a little jumper I’d made using a teddy pattern and didn’t think it would fit the doll but it apparently fits hare perfectly and now he is Peter Rabbit in Mr Macgregors garden! 
Love the imagination. (Extra2)

Singing tonight. Now it’s on every day I’m giving the morning ones a miss so didn’t do yesterday’s. Last night I watched Les Miserables - the stage concert,  which is being streamed for charity, including the NHS and Captain Tom’s fund. Enjoyed the music. There is so much available at the minute it’s hard to fit it all in!
Stay safe everyone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.