Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Immortal

I can't remember where G got this plant from, it's been in the flat for a quite a while. It is the Rose of Jericho which is almost impossible to kill - good news for anyone who is not good with keeping plants alive. It can lay dormant for years and then come back to life if you give it some water. True story. It is sometimes called The Resurrection Plant.

I got a few things done today, the most important of which was cancelling G's subscription to GoToMeeting and getting a refund for the unused part. I wish I'd done it earlier, but we have only recently discovered the ease of use of Zoom, which happily, is also free!

The other significant thing that happened today was our Sponsor's office sending a courier to collect the cheques which I was going to handover nearly four weeks ago before everything shut down. For some reason, no-one came yesterday and I waited almost until the end of the day today. I was filling out the airway bill when I got the shock of my life. The courier opened my sealed envelope because he wanted to check that I had put in the number of cheques he knew he should be collecting! I asked him why would he do that, and he said he needed to write the cheque numbers. I'm afraid I lost it a bit. Apparently this is normal procedure?? How?

I called the lady who organised the collection and told her what had happened. She said it was normal for this courier company to open the package being collected! We had a chat about this very unique practice and fortunately, she could see my point, though why we had to have the conversation in the first place is beyond me.

This little incident changed the course of the evening. We finally recovered in time for dinner. Midweek over, looking forward to the weekend and whatever it holds. I hope the 24-hour sterilization programme doesn't get extended! The news at the moment with negative oil prices (how is that even possible?) and businesses crashing is just crazy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.