Blue Jay Reception or Deception??

It was a sight to see. From my window perch...I think I could see maybe 20-30 blue jays. And...it wasn't just the numbers that amazed me. It was their demeanor...their politeness.

They are never that nice. They are one of the bullies of the birdfeeder bird world. I swear I could decipher their little blue head thoughts.

"You go first."

"No...you go."

"I just had a turn. I insist that you go."

"Are you sure you don't mind?"

"No....c'mon...knock yourself out."

"Thank you...I really mean it...thank you."

It was like a scene that you see at a grocery store checkout line.

Of course...this never happened. Take the zeros off of the 20-30 number, and maybe there were 2 or 3 jays. And, as is their nature...they were not nice. They were belligerent, brassy, and far from bewitching. But...they are both beautiful and beguiling. I always feel I should behoove them to behave better.

This is one jay in six different poses. I wish I could have put 3 more poses on...so then I could have titled it Nine on a Line.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.