LongDarkTeaTimeoftheSoul

By Nigel

Infrared Tree

Was a very nice day today again so I decided to take my camera down the botanics and try out Ilford's SFX film. I have used it before and thought it was pants but at the time I didn't have a proper IR filter. Having developed it and done a few quick scans I ave to say I'm still a bit disappointed. I had to this a little bit of help with photoshop to enhance the IR effect you get with 'proper' IR films.

Aside from my breif 2 hour sojourn in the Sun the rest of the day was mostly indoors, downstairs in the darkroom, another 10 hours or so. I only really came home because I thought the cat would probably be getting lonely and hungry, needless to say he was a mewling wreck when I got in, unable to decide whether food or cuddles were a priority.

I had a bath to soothe my aching feet, 12 hours on my feet is too much for me these days, and watched the first part of a very entertaining and informative program about the baroque movement, which left me wondering what a baroque artist would have done with photography, though I suspect that they were probably of the era where simple room cameras were used to create realistic painting with true perspective, Vermeer being one artist I am sure used this technique to great effect. The I found this article which reckons Caravaggio actually used mercury salt to burn the images into the canvas before painting. So now I know exactly what they would have done with a camera, painted over their prints. Might be worth a try...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.