The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Once there was a pub

... with live music, festivals, political hustings, a beer garden, and so on. Now it's a corner shop, and a good one at that. We are truly lucky to have it.

I could never have imagined this crazy existence, where having fresh pineapple for breakfast (and time to prep it) seems important and it is possible to spend all day doing little apart from simple housework. I cook, sometimes three delicious meals a day. If the weather is fine, I try to do as much washing and drying as possible. I paint hearts to post/give to friends for their windows. I read cookery books and write shopping lists. I text or WhatsApp a few friends. I help a friend source jigsaws for the community (she is still working). Sometimes I manage to read a chapter of a non-cookery book, or do a bit of a jigsaw. I walk to the corner shop (for pineapples!) and around the neighbourhood, sticking to the green spaces. Tonight we watched Treasure Island, streamed from the National Theatre. I help CleanSteve a little, but he wants to try to be as independent as possible (he had a minor accident two days ago).

None of this seemed anything more than a remarkably abnormal holliday until my school went back on Monday. Only a few young people are at school, boarding, and fewer are being supported at home by our school staff. Nursery isn't open at present. Masks are being worn. Teams of people are making more. I've asked my neighbour to help, but meanwhile I'm at home doing the laundry.

Maybe mindfulness would help. Learning to live with the discomfort of uncertainty. Or something.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.