The rocks were in his way......

Because the schools have closed down, my mom being a substitute teacher hasn't been able to "work for the toys" but between saving what she could, the unexpected stimulus check and (very) little help from me, she will be able to pay off her house for the second time. (A while ago I had mentioned that my parents had to take a mortgage out to help pay for my dads medical care). With everything going on in the world - knowing that the house is free and clear - means so much.

On my way home I stopped for fuel and this homeless man was partially blocking the entrance to the fuel station. I at first ignored him like so many others do.. As I was about to leave I pondered on taking his photo. With the virus going on - walking up to him closely was out of the question but I did ask. He said mostly mumbles but I did catch "got rock remove so I can go" or something close to it. Shortly after I took this photo he picked up all the rocks he dug out of the cracks in the sidewalk, gently put them in the dirt off the sidewalk and walked away...

At home I was watching the birds in the backyard. It is definitely spring as more and more birds are showing up and settling down. A simple joy for me but also a reminder of how lucky I am to have the family I have and be able to enjoy these simple joys...   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.