A day in the life

By Shelling

MoT

In 1963 Sweden decided on a control system for vehicles, Kalmar, where I live was one of the first cities to try it out. It soon stood clear that the number of serious accidents decreased significantly. A couple of years later periodic vehicles control, MoT in English, was decided.

A new car is in for its first check after three years, second check after two years, My car was new in 2015 so now was time for its second control. They check safety details like chassi,  wheels and steering, breaks, CO2 levels, lights and suchlike. The check is very strict and serious faults can lead to expensive garage costs and a new control, or even a driving ban on your car. The level of nervousness is usually rather high at these controls because most drivers don't have a clue about the condition of their car but in my case, since my car is rather new and I let the garage do regular service on it, there were no problems at all so I could drive home myself, instead of taking the bus. Phew. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.