A day in the life

By Shelling

Oak

Oak trees are very special to me. They grew near my childhood home and have been near  where ever I've lived. In the part of Sweden where I am now they are very common. On my walk today I came across a big one. Birch trees and several others has already set leaves but the oak is a bit later. This is a good time to admire the powerful build and the balance between the branches. After the leaves arrive it will look impressive in another way, but I like them now. 

Did you know they host more than a thousand different species, each with their own place in the  in the chain. Some are endemic, meaning they only live in an oak tree. We had a gorgeous day today with temperatures around 20-23 degrees celsius  in the shade. My walk brought me through a little grove where I haven't been before and therefore was a bit surprised to see these oak trees that I didn't know about.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.