A day in the life

By Shelling

Fresh air

What a day. Spring, or pre-summer. In the later afternoon after having finished some routines at home and giving a guitar-lesson this morning, I went for a walk on the east coast of my island. No coast is ever very far here. There is about 15 km from coast to coast where I live.

The island is very flat so, at a day like this there is room for an awful lot of sky and air. Luckily it was a bit windy as well, it can get quite hot here with all the reflecting rock. My walk went over the beach meadows you see in the main, to the water, then I followed the water south (to the right) and made a small four km roundtrip. Quite close to my starting point I came straight upon a larks-nest with two eggs. They build their nest of grass directly on the ground, easy to tread on if you don't keep an eye on the ground in front of you. First extra. 

One thing I sometimes see, very clear right here, is that the stone walls, marking the borders of the farmers property, is reduced to a single row of rocks the closer to the water you get, as you can see to the right in the second extra. A wonderful evening lies in front of me and I just had a nice meal after the walk. There may not be a yoga session tonight, maybe I will sit on the porch in the evening sun as long as it is there. It's easy to put aside any worries of Corona on a day like this. There will be better days for all of you who are stuck indoors, these pictures are a sneak preview.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.