1637

I suppose today had a bit of variety to it. I went to the Post Office.

Yes, that’s about as good as it gets these days. 

The workload has eased off this week, but with working from home, I had not realised the Hippie had taken a week’s holiday last week. This partly explains why things were a bit busier. I am much more productive at home too.

It looks as if the sunny dry weather is expected to last over the weekend, so gardening and exercise will be high on the priority list. Yes, I realise I have jinxed it. 

I noticed this doorway on my way back from the Post Office and decided to see if anything interesting happened in 1637. It turns out there was a riot in St Giles Cathedral in Edinburgh about prayer books - the English church was trying to impose a new type on the Scottish church. (This was after the union of the Scottish and English crowns in 1603, but before the Treaty of Union in 1707, so the countries were still independent of each other.) 

Plus ça change…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.