If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Cock Pheasant

Yes I know I posted a pheasant yesterday but there a couple of things I want to record, so another Pheasant it has to be.

There is a power struggle going on at the moment.  For months the "Old Lad" has been the undisputed boss of the garden.  I have seen him chase away Rooks and Wood Pigeons.  On the other hand the squirrel chased him, then again I have seen the squirrel push a pigeon off the bird table.  This new comer known as "no tail" for obvious reasons seems to be getting the upper hand.

When I went out to feed the birds "No Tail" came running towards me.  So I scattered some of the seed and crouched down with more in my hand.  I never expected him to eat from my hand and he didn't, however he did come and pick up seed within 6 inches (18 cm) of my hand.

The blip shows him drinking from water I have put out for the hedgehog.  A timely reminder, although we have a bird bath/drinker and a stream just yards away, the number of birds I have seen using the low one is amazing.   So in these dry times have a thought for our feathered friends and put some water out for them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.