Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Flower Friday: Boungainvillaea by the sea

I hope this qualifies for Flower Friday!

Today has been quite eventful, so I'm just going to list the things...

1. Good service at 11 am (though I admit I was late for it!)
2. Zoom chat with friend Hilde in Amman. It took over an hour to get the tech sorted (problem on her side), but she persevered and she was glad to be introduced to a new bit of software
3. We went out! It was the first time for G in a car in three weeks. She was very quiet, taking it all in.
4. I had a haircut and I am so pleased!
5. G had a pedicure (while I had a haircut) and she is thrilled
6. We did the recycling and had a walk along the pavement (the jogging track is off-limits) to view the new resort which is under construction right next to the Burj Al Arab. It wasn't a long walk, but better than nothing.
7. The whole country got an SMS from MBZ (Sheikh Mohammed Bin Zayed), the Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi, on the occasion of Ramadan. I thought it was very sweet of him to send greetings.

One of the unplanned positives of the current lockdown is how much the air quality has improved. Dubai is no exception. It was not too warm or humid when we did our little walk and the visibility was perfect for photographs. Someone, or maybe something(?) had gone along the beach with what looks like a giant stamp and drawn some iconic shapes, so I got up on the barrier wall to get a good shot. The beach patrolman was soon by my side in his buggy telling me it wasn't allowed to stand on the wall...

G took the picture of the sunset from her side of the car. I'm glad she got the cheerful pink flowers in it the shot. A cat came along later, but it was too dark/moody, so I've gone with the brighter image. We drove home through Business Bay and MBR Boulevard just to see if anything had changed. It was just eerily quiet everywhere, like as if everyone has gone to the moon. It's been a good day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.